Jump to content


Paypal Scam?


6 replies to this topic

#1 dre

    Young Padawan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 05 August 2005 - 04:21 PM

Hey i just recieved an email from "PayPal <datasec@paypal.com>". I dont think this is paypal there is a link in the email that goes to "http://81.27.196.172/.a/secured_site/index.php"

the email is as follows


Quote

Dear Paypal User,
 
In accordance with our major database relocation, we are currently having major adjustments and updates of user accounts to verify that the informations you have provided with us during the sign-up process are true and correct. However, we have noticed some discrepancies regarding your account at Paypal. Possible causes are inaccurate contact information and invalid logout process.
 
We require you to complete an account verification procedure as part of our security measure.
 
You must click the link below to complete the process.
https://www.paypal.c...?cmd=_login-run

 
Unable to do so may result to abnormal account behavior during transactions.

 
Thank you for using PayPal!
The PayPal Team


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the "Help" link in the footer of any page.
PayPal Email ID PP096

i did a whois on the ip using iwebtool.com/reverse_ip and it resolve to somewhere in Czech Republic - Ustecky Kraj - Most - Tesnetwor

Has anyone else recieve this email?? Post here

#2 donkeymusic

    Jedi In Training

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 495 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warrington, UK

Posted 05 August 2005 - 04:59 PM

i get them all the time but jsut delete them or send the to ebays spoof/scam address for them to follow up.

#3 sez318

    P2L Jedi

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 660 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Dayton, OH

Posted 05 August 2005 - 05:18 PM

You should never recieve emails asking you to verify your account. If you do, Its a scam. Do what donkeymusic said :)

#4 Jaymz

    Retired P2L Staff

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,104 posts

Posted 05 August 2005 - 05:22 PM

Paypal will never ask for personal information in an e-mail. Forward it to spoof@ebay.com and they'll look into it :)

#5 Donna

    Retired P2L Queen!

  • P2L Staff
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 12,330 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:B.C Canada

Posted 05 August 2005 - 07:02 PM

Forward them to spoof@paypal.com include full headers of the email.

#6 Sodlier_Pyro

    Jedi In Training

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 440 posts
  • Location:Virginia
  • Interests:Computers, web design, anything computers basically

Posted 05 August 2005 - 09:42 PM

I get them everynow and again. My dad got one too.

#7 Mondo

    Young Padawan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts

Posted 06 August 2005 - 07:09 AM

SCAM
I’m sure I don’t need to tell anyone this but I will anyway, never, never, never send any details concerning Paypal, banks, credit cards or any financial organisation through email or over the phone unless you contacted them, these companies have backups of backups of backups and will never lose your information, always presume it’s a scam; if you think that it could be real, disconnect and then contact them through the number/email address they gave you when you signed up, ie, if they phone you, offer to hang up and call them back on the number you know is safe, or if you receive an email with an apparent link to the website, don’t use it, close the email and log on to the site using the web address normally would.

Just remember that financial organisations will never contact you and ask you for your account information.

This has been a public service announcement from the Mondo Committee of Public Safety





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users