Jump to content


NEW MSN VIRUS!


26 replies to this topic

#1 Maxx-Designs

    P2L Jedi

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 681 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted 26 October 2005 - 04:50 AM

Hey guys, There is a new msn virus it does this message

wow, this is you? http: // www. messengerstats.net/profile.php?msn=you@hotmail. com

you is obously your email. Dont click it it has an msdos attachment and wont let you open anti-virus

I havnt got this but my friends do!

so be on the lookout!

#2 Ruben K

    Cliff

  • Twodded Staff
  • PipPip
  • 438 posts

Posted 26 October 2005 - 04:56 AM

lol dont use msn

#3 l3lueMage

    Wanna Be Moderator

  • Publishing Betazoids
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,596 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco Bay Area

Posted 26 October 2005 - 04:57 AM

Wait a minute is that the link, or it that a link to the article talking about it? cause I cliked it :ph34r:

Edited by l3lueMage, 26 October 2005 - 04:58 AM.


#4 Ruben K

    Cliff

  • Twodded Staff
  • PipPip
  • 438 posts

Posted 26 October 2005 - 04:58 AM

hahaha

#5 funkysoul

    The Funky Stuff

  • Publishing Betazoids
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,307 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Zurich, Switzerland
  • Interests:Music: HIM, HIM, HIM, Cafe del Mar, Linkin Park, Fort Minor, Coldplay, Eric Jordan<br />Sports: Snowboarding, KiteSurfing, Extreme Sports<br />Computer: Flash, After Effects, Actionscript

Posted 26 October 2005 - 05:01 AM

LOL

Happy to be on trillian :ph34r:

Yeh guys, watch out for that virus, got a few warnings from some IT-friends.

#6 Maxx-Designs

    P2L Jedi

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 681 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted 26 October 2005 - 05:03 AM

its the link you dont click. did you get the attachment. I dont think it works if i chnged the email!

yeah, I always use trilian anyway!

Edited by Maxx-Designs, 26 October 2005 - 05:03 AM.


#7 l3lueMage

    Wanna Be Moderator

  • Publishing Betazoids
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,596 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco Bay Area

Posted 26 October 2005 - 05:04 AM

No nothing loaded, I thought it might be one of those sites that install it without you knowing though, so I didnt get it...phew :ph34r:

#8 Jersey Hacker

    Young Padawan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Jersey, Channel Islands, UK
  • Interests:Im a geek. You can guess the rest.

Posted 26 October 2005 - 07:06 AM

i use gaim on linux, so im ultra-safe, but if you have windows, you should use gaim or trillian. MSN is too full of viruses like that one, so watch out!

#9 Iysha

    Young Padawan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 291 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london

Posted 26 October 2005 - 07:07 AM

cheers 4 warning us about it :ph34r:

#10 sez318

    P2L Jedi

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 660 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Dayton, OH

Posted 26 October 2005 - 08:29 AM

Seen it before, But thanks for reminding me! :ph34r:

#11 austen

    P2L Jedi

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 910 posts
  • Location:Montana, US
  • Interests:Web design, snowboarding (lots of it), Computer science related.

Posted 26 October 2005 - 08:31 AM

Good to know... though those are pretty easy to spot, I use Adium anyways on mac so I'm a lil safer :ph34r:

#12 Tirus

    P2L Jedi

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 764 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Canada
  • Interests:Web Design, Programming, Music, Martial Arts

Posted 26 October 2005 - 10:02 AM

Maxx-Designs, on Oct 26 2005, 05:50 AM, said:

Hey guys, There is a new msn virus it does this message

wow, this is you? http://www.messengerstats.net/profile.php?...you@hotmail.com

you is obously your email. Dont click it it has an msdos attachment and wont let you open anti-virus

I havnt got this but my friends do!

so be on the lookout!
im not sure how new this is because quite a while ago, I would say maybe 3-4 months ago, someone on msn sent me a message saying "wow is this you?" with a link with my email in it. I clicked on it, since i knew the person and didnt think anything of it and then my Virus protection went off saying it was blocking something from installing. I asked the guy what that was he sent me and he said "oh s**t, dont click on it". So I think he got it and it sent it to everyone on his list.

#13 finlay

    Young Padawan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Interests:Adobe, PHP

Posted 26 October 2005 - 11:17 AM

grr @ viruses.. i probably would have fell for it.. *sends to ex-girlfriend* die... lol joke

#14 Donna

    Retired P2L Queen!

  • P2L Staff
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 12,330 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:B.C Canada

Posted 26 October 2005 - 12:22 PM

Maxx-Designs, on Oct 26 2005, 10:50 PM, said:

Hey guys, There is a new msn virus it does this message
This is so old its not funny at all

#15 Maxx-Designs

    P2L Jedi

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 681 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted 26 October 2005 - 03:19 PM

yeah, sorry for you people who hvae it beofre me, its probly around the first in Australia.

#16 ktd

    * Something Ain't Right *

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 October 2005 - 04:04 PM

I don't really care. My nortons expired two years ago so I have about 100 virus on here to begin with

#17 adam123

    Retired P2L Staff

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,306 posts
  • Location:London, UK
  • Interests:Programming and stuff.

Posted 26 October 2005 - 05:10 PM

kevthedude, on Oct 26 2005, 10:04 PM, said:

I don't really care. My nortons expired two years ago so I have about 100 virus on here to begin with
;) not really something that you should be careless about, get a free viruse scanner such as AVG

#18 Vouksh

    Young Padawan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 166 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 26 October 2005 - 07:45 PM

i use the one from http://www.free-av.com/ I love it.

#19 syntex

    P2L Staff

  • P2L Staff
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,126 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:Poetry, Photography, Music, My Band, Guitar and out of my mind experiences.

Posted 26 October 2005 - 09:48 PM

Ive seen this too and instantly knew it was a virus, So i scanning just incase my brother downloaded it

#20 Maxx-Designs

    P2L Jedi

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 681 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted 27 October 2005 - 01:28 AM

Anyone know how to get rid of it???





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users