#1 Lux01

Lux01

Young Padawan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 03 August 2006 - 11:42 AM

Hey,

I was wondering if anyone could help me understand how one would go about coding something similar to the Unread posts feature which is in forum software. I think it might have something to do with sessions but I'm not sure. Can anyone help?

Thanks.

#2 Erik Bernskiold

Erik Bernskiold

Jedi In Training

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Interests:I love to do booth Web Design and Photography. Nothing beats a nice day out in the nature with the camera gear, getting loads of nice photos. I have been playing the flute for 6 years now and I love it, and I am playing the pipe organ as well. I also like to teach other people the in and outs of software such as the CS3 suite from Adobe.

Posted 03 August 2006 - 12:14 PM

I would suspect it plants a cookie on the users machine when you exit your browser or log out, (or a session is exited) and then when you come to the site next time it sees when you were last online and displays another mark in front of the posts that has been made since.

However that's just what I think and I am not very experienced in PHP yet...

#3 Matthew.

Matthew.

Official Spammer .Matt

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,749 posts

Posted 03 August 2006 - 12:15 PM

This is my nightware question because there are many ways, half of them drag your page by quite a bit if there are many entries.

That way is to make a new table called whatever you want, and everytime a topic is read, enter the username, timestamp, and topic id. Then we check the last reply in the topic against the entry (or lack of) and if the timesamp of the last read entry is less than the last reply, then you produce an unread message symbol.

You can see the problemim sure, that is after a while, that becomes one hell of a query. So what i would do is use an array and serialize it into the database with the last read time and the topic id.