Photo
- - - - -

Generating Web Income - How to start off..?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 magneto_m

magneto_m

Young Padawan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 11 January 2007 - 07:53 AM

Hi,

I am quite new to the concept of generating income online. I am mainly a graphic designer with some degree of knowledge of html as well as flash. But I have limited knowledge of coding using languages like php. I am looking to start my own website and slowly try to build up a decent income through adsense.

I believe I have a decent idea for a website. And if all it required was just a an html of flash site I would have no trouble in bringing up a good site. But after going through many articles on the topic, I believe that interactivity and provision of dynamic content is a necessity to draw in good audience. This means that I would require my site to allow users to post their comments to articles and also have forums. And ideally it should have some database capability too. I am wondering how I can achieve this.

I am initially planning to have a wallpaper site.

(something similar to this: http://www.santabanta.com/wallpapers/)
Then think of adding other sections to the site as the site develops.
Can I start off such a site with minimal scripting knowledge ? Are standard scripts available for galleries..?

I need to start from scratch (right from the issue of buying a domain). I am wondering if there is any package for beginners . One in which I would not need any scripting knowledge to plugin forums and article submission features. Is there any standard package that is offered by hosting companies that I would find easy to start off and modify later..?

Would appreciate your help...

Edited by magneto_m, 11 January 2007 - 07:55 AM.

#2 mwookie

mwookie

Young Padawan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts

Posted 11 January 2007 - 10:26 PM