I WANT TO F%^#NG PUNCH GODADDY IN THE FACE
#1
Posted 11 January 2007 - 08:33 PM
I go to godaddy (newb mistake) and run a search. "Hey, that site's available....and it's only $8/yr".
YEAH!!! Ill take it. But I left my wallet in my car. Ill get it later.
So three weeks later, I sit down today to register it and....hark, it's been taken!?!? S#!%, what are the odds?? I go to the url, and GODADDY put up a nice little page saying "this page has been parked FOR FREE at GoDaddy.com.
I had no idea godaddy was so rich that they can afford to give out domain names!!!
Anyway, I go back to the site and they have a link to "click for info"
They give the person's info out on who bought the site!!! How often, in the Patriot Act, Security age, do we just give people's information out. But I digress....I noticed some funny things about the info. For one, It said the name has been owned by this guy since OCTOBER 2004!!! IT WAS AVAILABLE THREE WEEKS AGO!!! AND IT DOESN"T EXPIRE TIL OCTOBER 2007!?!? F$#%&NG B%#^$&*T. Two, they provide you with his phone number??? 818-555-1212. For those of you on the other side of the pond, 555 numbers don't exist, they are reserved for movies that want to make up ficticious phone numbers so people in real life don't call and bother innocent people. LONG STORY SHORT, it's F$#%&NG B%#^$&*T!!
Last but not least, they offer a BUY DOMAIN AGENT. For $60 plus commision, they will "negotiate" with the current owner and see if they are willing to sell and for how much. THIS IS SUCH S#%&, they are the people who bought it. It's a scam, it's a ficticious company called SMS Entertainment Group. (google them, they don't exist!). And now instead of $8, it will cost me $60+ what ever extorting amount they come up with.
THIS IS EXTORSION AND I WILL find out how to sue, so if this has happened to anyone....please let me know.
Or try and provide any advice, or even a counter to my claim (<---probably not the best idea right now)
F#$& GODADDY.
Frank
#2
Posted 11 January 2007 - 08:42 PM
i dont think it could say it had been created 2 years ago when it hasnt because thats generated by a code based off the registration of it
o well thats a slap in the face
#3
Posted 11 January 2007 - 08:43 PM
recordlovelife, on Jan 11 2007, 07:33 PM, said:
Actually there are some 555 numbers
dEcade
#4
Posted 11 January 2007 - 08:44 PM
2. How do you know GoDaddy bought it? A lot of companies buy up random domains and park them wishing they get a good offer on it.
3. Goto whois.org and check the info. It can't have been registered in the last 3 weeks if it says it was registered in 2004.
4. Suing would do nothing. You have no proof.
#5
Posted 11 January 2007 - 08:48 PM
recordlovelife, on Jan 11 2007, 07:33 PM, said:
Also just because they're not on google doesn't mean they don't exist. Maybe they just by out random domains and don't have a set site for their company I don't know.
dEcade
Edited by dEcade, 11 January 2007 - 08:48 PM.
#6
Posted 11 January 2007 - 08:56 PM
Ben.
Edited by d4rkst0n3, 12 January 2007 - 05:17 AM.
#7
Posted 11 January 2007 - 09:02 PM
lol seriously you haven't a leg to stand on here.
I'd say you made a spelling error or the domain was in process of being renewed.
SMS Entertainment Group does exist btw.
post the url please
#8
Posted 11 January 2007 - 09:07 PM
#9 _*Zenom_*
Posted 11 January 2007 - 09:16 PM
#10
Posted 11 January 2007 - 09:59 PM
#11
Posted 12 January 2007 - 03:08 AM
GoDaddy have done nothing wrong, someone else has bought the domain. It godaddy parking page is what thedomainis pointed to by default.
Quote
lol @ sue godaddy.
Edited by Matthew., 12 January 2007 - 03:08 AM.
#12
Posted 12 January 2007 - 08:55 AM
Second thing: Just because you typed in the domain name in a browser and it said "This Page cant be found" Doesnt mean it's available! Run a WHOIS Search..
I dont think any legal laws have been broken here.. I think the only thing committed here is stupidity, no offence.
#13
Posted 12 January 2007 - 12:12 PM
recordlovelife, on Jan 11 2007, 08:33 PM, said:
Ok, now that's funny. I could have bought a domain and not park it yet, you will get that 404 Not Found page. You should always check the domain on a registrar.
recordlovelife, on Jan 11 2007, 08:33 PM, said:
I had no idea godaddy was so rich that they can afford to give out domain names!!!
You misunderstood that line. GoDaddy.com park the domain on their server for free so the owner can wait before parking it to another server. It has nothing to do with GoDaddy buying the domain...
recordlovelife, on Jan 11 2007, 08:33 PM, said:
Unless you are new to domains, you should know that YOU HAVE TO provide valid information about the domain owner. It's required or you can loose your domain for providing false information.
So GoDaddy did nothing wrong there, the only person to blame is you. If you really wanted that domain, you should have bought it asap, not 3 weeks later...
#14
Posted 12 January 2007 - 12:25 PM
Dan
#15
Posted 12 January 2007 - 12:32 PM
Faken, on Jan 12 2007, 05:25 PM, said:
Dan
True and also if it is available and you don't buy it straight away, it's your fault.. No one elses..
GoDaddy have done nothing wrong.. Sorry, but you have brought it upon yourself.
Domains are going very quick, and 3 weeks is a lifetime to buy a domain name that is available to buy.
Nothing can be done
#16
Posted 12 January 2007 - 12:39 PM
#17
Posted 12 January 2007 - 01:36 PM
He immediately respondes with "they stole you're domain name?"
I was shocked...."how'd you know".
"they do it all the time, they even start "companies" for the sake of making legitamate purchases"
At that point, I was so mad. I drove my brand new GTI VR6 on the highway, with the windows down, for about an hour. That helped to clear my head.
So as I approached the whole situation today, im back to working and past the grudge state. I have recently reserved a new domain that will work just fine for me and see if my original one becomes available in ten months. In the heat of fustration, it was easier to RAAAANT than accept my mistakes and learn from them.
So before another person posts "you're fault" or "you're lazy", you are all right.
Thanks for all your harsh blows :bashhead: , i guess next time ill just have to use serverseed (<--that's was a joke).
#19
Posted 12 January 2007 - 06:54 PM
1 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users
