#1 a41ramo

a41ramo

Young Padawan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 24 May 2007 - 04:18 PM

Hello,

I am fairly new to flash and I am using a template for a website. I have a movieclip menu (Home, About Us etc.) and I want to link each one to a new page but I cannot seem to figure out how to do it. Furthermore, I'd like to link it so it shows up on a certain part of the same page. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

#2 Pax

Pax

P2L Jedi

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 911 posts

Posted 24 May 2007 - 09:21 PM

Are these separate content sections in their own swfs? One option is to create a holder clip that sits where you want the content to show up, and then use a movieclip loader to load the swf into that holder clip. This works well because your site wont preload the content that might not get viewed. Saves on bandwidth and initial wait time. I have a tutorial on the movieclip loader class on my website that includes code for a progress bar as well. Give it a look if you decide to use external swfs for content.

#3 a41ramo

a41ramo

Young Padawan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 24 May 2007 - 10:53 PM

Are these separate content sections in their own swfs? One option is to create a holder clip that sits where you want the content to show up, and then use a movieclip loader to load the swf into that holder clip. This works well because your site wont preload the content that might not get viewed. Saves on bandwidth and initial wait time. I have a tutorial on the movieclip loader class on my website that includes code for a progress bar as well. Give it a look if you decide to use external swfs for content.