#1 Veng

Veng

Young Padawan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 14 September 2007 - 01:55 PM

Hallo :)

I'm pretty new with this VRay render stuff.
As far as I can se VRay makes some very beautiful renders... But mine look like crap :(

Look at this:
Posted Image
That's made with VRay, GI on and Irradiance Map set to "High"
But for some reason it makes these grunge/camo-like shadows.

While rendering (With "Show calc. phase on) it look lik this:
Posted Image
Isn't that some weird light calculations?

I'm using one big normal VRay plane light as I don't know how to use the VRay sun light.
And the shot is made with VRay Physical Camera.
If those make a difference?

Anyone know how to fix this and get "smooth" shadows without all these small "bumps" between the dark and light spots?

Oh... And I don't want any comments about the models in the scene... This is a very early state and I know there's alot of flaws :)

(And sorry for my bad english by the way)

Edited by Veng, 14 September 2007 - 01:56 PM.

#2 SebLev

SebLev

Forum Whore is what I am today!

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,514 posts

Posted 27 September 2007 - 10:44 PM

Hey, well I'm not a user of Vray but from what I know I get something exactly like that in maya: mentalray ... and I get it when I use final gather... I don't know if you guys have something like that... and when I set the final gather rays at a certain point you start getting that effect... so what I have to do is something in the final gather section I need to change tje min radius: and the ma radius: higher so that it can smooth those rays out more and spread them better

don't know if it helps at all or if you guys even have any kinda options like this in 3D studio max but hey... just look in yoru render settings somewhere where theirs a min and max radius for some kinda rays and just put them higher...

tell me if it helps

#3 Stu

Stu

Retired P2L Staff

• Publishing Betazoids
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,761 posts