#1 alexei777

alexei777

Young Padawan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 May 2005 - 04:42 PM

Hi guys ,

This is my first post on this forum and i hope you will be able to help me with this simple newbie question ...

Firstly , i am currently a web programmer in PHP,MySQL,Javascript,HTML,CSS and i've been doing this for a few years now ... enough with the boring background :ph34r:

What i would like is to move to a DESKTOP programming language which would offer me
a new perspective towards programming apart from the web programming ...

So , my question would be which desktop programming language do you recommend ?
Which of them offers the best learning curve and also the best features ?

I must specify i've had some attempts to learn C++ in school , but it seems to me there should be some better options out there ... maybe visual basic ? i don't know , but i would like it to be a complete language from the features point of view ...

Please give me some details too ...
Thanks to all and i am anxiously waiting for your answers ...

Regards,
Alex.

#2 Jynxis

Jynxis

Young Padawan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 132 posts

Posted 31 May 2005 - 10:31 PM

VB.NET, Perl, C++, Java are all good languages to start in....

Tho you would prolly also be better off learning ASP.NET(Web Programming Language*you prolly already knew*) aswell

#3 kschembri

kschembri

Young Padawan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 81 posts

Posted 22 June 2005 - 03:50 PM

My favourites include
VB.NET and C++, Java is also good to start out with.

#4 Hacker-X

Hacker-X

Young Padawan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 174 posts

Posted 22 June 2005 - 10:27 PM

try Python, pretty basic code language, then start VB and then C++, i haven't a clue about any of these languages except some VB

#5 ronson

ronson

Banned For Being Purple

• Twodded Staff
  • PipPip
  • 480 posts
  • Interests:Rugby, Programming, Building Computers, Networking, Web Design and...........BINGE DRINKING!!!!!!.

Posted 23 June 2005 - 08:10 PM