#1 Wazzup

Wazzup

Young Padawan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 217 posts

Posted 28 June 2005 - 05:16 AM

Hey,

Im a noob when it comes to 3d programs, but hope to start off learning the ropes of it soon. But for now i have three questions: With what program would models of say half life 2 be made? And if there are multiple programs just name them all, im really curious and then my second question, the 3d animation movies coming out every once and a while in cinema's what program would those be made with? And what 3d program would be ok to start with?

greetz, Snuur

#2 Jamie Huskisson

Jamie Huskisson

Retired P2L Staff

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,648 posts

Posted 28 June 2005 - 05:27 AM

half life 2 is 100% made in softImage XSI

you can get a free license for this - it comes with the Source SDK threough Steam and they have lots of example pieces to help you build levels/models in there too :)

#3 Stu

Stu

Retired P2L Staff

• Publishing Betazoids
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,761 posts

Posted 28 June 2005 - 10:55 AM

i think movies like finding nemo and that new one with animals escaping from the zoo are made in maya

start learning to model in 3d with max or c4d

#4 BeaverElfeater

BeaverElfeater

P2L Jedi

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 640 posts

Posted 28 June 2005 - 11:12 AM

matrix had some elements in maya, madagascar, finding nemo, shrek 1 and 2, and LOTR

thats what i kno could be more

#5 Stu

Stu

Retired P2L Staff

• Publishing Betazoids
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,761 posts

Posted 28 June 2005 - 11:20 AM

yeah i think maya is generally the most used 3d software in the movie/animation industry... theres another thing too developed by pixar studios i think not sure what it is though ill try find out

Edit: https://renderman.pixar.com/ , so as you can see, toy stroy 1 and 2, a bugs life, finding nemo (my bad), monster inc, the incredible, and cars were all made with that... think that kind of shows you how powerful it is.

#6 SHIVMOO

SHIVMOO

Honoured X Staff