Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Tutorialfanatic.com tutorial competition - $400 of prizes to be won
Pixel2Life Forum > General > Competition Free-For-All
tutorialfanatic.com
Tutorialfanatic.com is now holding its first major competition, which is 1 of many to come. This competition is a tutorial contest. Anyone can join, theres no age limit etc. The only requirements you need is;

Active paypal account; If you win, i will have to send the money to somewhere.

Adobe photoshop on your computer (of course!)

What are we looking for?

We are looking for someone with great inspiration and new ideas, the tutorial can be based on anything you wish, for example; how to create a template, abstract effect etc..

The winner will be announced on the 6th of january.

How do i join

Create the tutorial, zip it or upload it, and send the file/link to admin@wdeluxe.co.uk, with your name and age, and tell me a bit about your work and why you think you should win.


Tutorials must be unique and new, and not indexed on any websites.

Prizes


1st prize: $150 sent via paypal, Free banner advertising on tutorialfanatic.com for 1 month, and a free paid text link.2nd prize: $75 sent via paypal, Free banner advertising on tutorialfanatic.com for 1month. 3rd prize: $40 sent via paypal, free text link for 1 month

Want anymore information? add me to msn dob0_b0y@msn.com

http://www.tutorialfanatic.com

Thanks
LD
albinoAZN
I will definitely be entering this.

One thing you may want to correct in your post. You never state that the tutorials must be based on Photoshop, but it's what you infer from your examples. Maybe somewhere in there, say whether or not the tutorials must be about doing something with photoshop.
tutorialfanatic.com
QUOTE(Albino4zn @ Dec 17 2006, 11:16 AM) *
I will definitely be entering this.

One thing you may want to correct in your post. You never state that the tutorials must be based on Photoshop, but it's what you infer from your examples. Maybe somewhere in there, say whether or not the tutorials must be about doing something with photoshop.


Good one for pointing that out. Will correct it now, And good luck!
smile.gif
tutorialfanatic.com
http://www.tutorialfanatic.com/?id=contest

If you are joining on the contest page there is an option to signup to the competition thanks.

Lewis
albinoAZN
one more thing, may we submit more than one tutorial?
tutorialfanatic.com
I am afraid only one tutorial may be submitted by each contender, the reason for this is because everyone has the equal chance of winning.

Good luck!!

Thanks,
LD
z77
Hmmm... Why are you using Sconner's old layout for this site?
Burst Effect
Sent something threw email, my emails confirmp@gmail.com BTW.
SoloThemes.com
hey,

i would love to enter this competition.... but i dont have a Paypal account... i live here in Pakistan, middle-east..... and Paypal is not available here... i was wondering if you can pay through alertpay.com or stormpay.com ??

thnx...

i will start on the tut once you have ensured if this is possible... coz it would be a waste of time if its not possible...
Cmain
Sorry for bumping this topic but this contest was a scam as far as I can see. For one the contest was supposed to end on January 1st but he didn't end it so I emailed him and he said there were late submissions so he moved date back. So I was alright with that so I waited. Now I go back a few days before the end date and see my tutorial already posted on the website. Now the deadline date has ended and no email or no announcement of winners. Basically I think my tutorial was stolen. Mine is: http://www.tutorialfanatic.com/index.php?id=auro

Is there anything I can do about this. I don't want my work on his website considering other sites that aren't scams would be glad to have it.
jdbadger
QUOTE(Cmain @ Feb 2 2007, 06:29 PM) *
Sorry for bumping this topic but this contest was a scam as far as I can see. For one the contest was supposed to end on January 1st but he didn't end it so I emailed him and he said there were late submissions so he moved date back. So I was alright with that so I waited. Now I go back a few days before the end date and see my tutorial already posted on the website. Now the deadline date has ended and no email or no announcement of winners. Basically I think my tutorial was stolen. Mine is: http://www.tutorialfanatic.com/index.php?id=auro

Is there anything I can do about this. I don't want my work on his website considering other sites that aren't scams would be glad to have it.


Where are you cmain and where do you believe the site is based. I am an attorney in the U.S. and could look to see if there is some type of civil or criminal violation for you..unfortunately I would have to probably research some international law or law in the ocuntry of origin of the website. You may want to send an email stating that you have not authorized use of your tutorial and that they should remove it before you seek legal recourse....

Just a thought and not legal advice.
Cmain
I am from the USA but I believe that the site is based in the UK. I did a whois on the domain and proceeded to do a google search on the owner. I found that he also owns a site called tutsforyou.net. That jogged my memory back to: http://www.sitepoint.com/marketplace/auction/3931?s=&

Apparently he is bidding on his OWN auction. I should have realized that this was all a scam from the start.
jdbadger
QUOTE(Cmain @ Feb 2 2007, 06:57 PM) *
I am from the USA but I believe that the site is based in the UK. I did a whois on the domain and proceeded to do a google search on the owner. I found that he also owns a site called tutsforyou.net. That jogged my memory back to: http://www.sitepoint.com/marketplace/auction/3931?s=&

Apparently he is bidding on his OWN auction. I should have realized that this was all a scam from the start.


I would go ahead and send him the email telling him to remove your tutorial - your entry was based on a legit contest and not for his free use. Give him a deadline to do it by - say 5 or 10 days.
Cmain
I've given him a 10 day deadline. I will update with anything new as it happens.
Pathanos
Huge scam. He hasn't been online at all, as far as I know. He still owes me 100$, for doing some work on the site. Don't fall for this crap. Plus, I think he abandoned his old email.
DijonWolfie
QUOTE(Pathanos @ Feb 8 2007, 02:01 PM) *
Huge scam. He hasn't been online at all, as far as I know. He still owes me 100$, for doing some work on the site. Don't fall for this crap. Plus, I think he abandoned his old email.


The best course of action is if after 10 days to all forward a copy of the email, and a letter stating that he does not have permission to host your work on his website. His Hosting provider will then attempt to contact him to take the content down, and failing that they will take down the site. Remember to remain professional and courteous throughout.
Ben
QUOTE(DijonWolfie @ Feb 9 2007, 05:34 AM) *
QUOTE(Pathanos @ Feb 8 2007, 02:01 PM) *
Huge scam. He hasn't been online at all, as far as I know. He still owes me 100$, for doing some work on the site. Don't fall for this crap. Plus, I think he abandoned his old email.


The best course of action is if after 10 days to all forward a copy of the email, and a letter stating that he does not have permission to host your work on his website. His Hosting provider will then attempt to contact him to take the content down, and failing that they will take down the site. Remember to remain professional and courteous throughout.

Unless he hosts himself (although he most likely doesn't).
bĘko
what an asshole.
Ben
QUOTE(bĘko @ Feb 10 2007, 11:04 PM) *
what an asshole.

I know how these guys feel. I've been scammed and used before.
Cmain
Well it has been 10 days and still no reply. Looks like he has no intent of removing my work. I wonder how many other people bought into his scams.
Donna
QUOTE(Cmain @ Feb 2 2007, 05:57 PM) *
I am from the USA but I believe that the site is based in the UK. I did a whois on the domain and proceeded to do a google search on the owner. I found that he also owns a site called tutsforyou.net. That jogged my memory back to: http://www.sitepoint.com/marketplace/auction/3931?s=&

Apparently he is bidding on his OWN auction. I should have realized that this was all a scam from the start.


Yep I've seen him bid on his own sites as well, really sorry you got scammed this is now our 3rd comp here thats gone bad and I promise to bring this to Dans attention to make a news posting on this because we don't want to see this happen. This member will be banned from posting further competitions here, there is not much else we can do unless they pre pay the prize monies to Faken before hand.

http://www.pixel2life.com/sourcesite/tutorialfanatic_com/ are any of those your tutorials?

I'd do a search to see if he's active at sitepoint, from there send a DMCA Notice to Enom for hosting copyrighted content biggrin.gif He also owns http://www.wdeluxe.co.uk/
Faken
QUOTE(Cmain @ Feb 13 2007, 12:36 AM) *
Well it has been 10 days and still no reply. Looks like he has no intent of removing my work. I wonder how many other people bought into his scams.


Are these tutorials also published on your site? if youw ant help, contact me and I can try and help you get the content pulled.

He's been banned and his listings removed from P2L. My apologies to anyone that got taken by this sack of shit... we're working on ways of filtering out these cons and making sure people that run contests through here are legit.

Dan
Cmain
Thanks guys. I got a PM from someone who apparently bought my tutorial and wants to reach an agreement with me. I will get back to you.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.