Jump to content


Photo

G.N. Designs


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
29 replies to this topic

#1 Bravi

Bravi

    Young Padawan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 198 posts

Posted 29 January 2006 - 09:04 PM

Hi guys... I've just finished my newest project and I wanted to show it to you all...
Before u enter the website, please consider these simple things:

1. I work with 1440x900 resolution
2. Works only with IE
3. I started photoshoping in July actually...
4. I ADORE JAVASCRIPT
and
5. I'm a bit crazy
so... G.N. Designs By Bravi :blush:

Edited by Bravi, 30 January 2006 - 05:39 PM.


#2 Clandestine

Clandestine

    * Forum Police *

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 833 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Redondo Beach, CA

Posted 29 January 2006 - 09:42 PM

i couldnt get into the site for some reason. But i would recommend making it best viewed in all resoultions. So that everyone can enjoy your site just as much as you do

-Devyn

edit: nvm, i was able to get into the site, i was looking for a link on the splash page, and their are links they just don thave rollovers so i just didnt bother to click, and when i hit enter, im stuck having the site load, and its taking a long time as i write this. I have high speed internet. So it must be terrible for dial up

keep worken on it hope it turns out great

-Devyn

Edited by Clandestine, 29 January 2006 - 09:45 PM.


#3 Nike

Nike

    Young Padawan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 204 posts
  • Location:Ohio
  • Interests:Controlling the human and and duck race.

Posted 29 January 2006 - 10:25 PM

Yeah, it took three minutes and I just left.

#4 greg

greg

    Jedi In Training

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 499 posts
  • Location:New York City
  • Interests:Fine art, web and graphic design, naval architecture, chess, and sports.

Posted 30 January 2006 - 01:02 AM

The site doesn't even work in Firefox, at all. The splash page is messy and I think pointless.

Too many graphics, too much Javascript, too cluttered. Sorry, just doesn't hit the spot for me.

#5 Bravi

Bravi

    Young Padawan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 198 posts

Posted 30 January 2006 - 04:18 AM

Thnx for checking the site. I'll try to fix it, But meanwhile, try to load the main page from here please (index2.html):
G.N. Designs

#6 Mooey

Mooey

    Retired P2L Staff

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 587 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:http://500px.com/mikeholman
    http://holmanmedia.net

Posted 30 January 2006 - 05:06 AM

Yeah - it wouldnt load in FF for me, i gave it 20secs and switched it off.

Also - i think splash screens are not needed no more for this type of site.

Edited by Mooey, 30 January 2006 - 06:29 AM.


#7 Dh.

Dh.

    CSS Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 807 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berkshire, England

Posted 30 January 2006 - 06:10 AM

Didn't load correctly in ff, and very slow

#8 Av-

Av-

    I Feel Left Out

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,972 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:10 ft. below sea level

Posted 30 January 2006 - 12:10 PM

only works good in IE and is waaaayyy too imageheavy :P

#9 Clandestine

Clandestine

    * Forum Police *

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 833 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Redondo Beach, CA

Posted 30 January 2006 - 02:08 PM

after looking at it in IE, it looks really cool, just need ta get it to work with all browsers :P

-Devyn

#10 Hoot

Hoot

    * Hooty Tooty Fruit *

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,346 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:Making Websites, Working in 3D, Playing the Drums

Posted 30 January 2006 - 05:19 PM

its cool, but as Clandestine have it work in all browsers.

Hoot

#11 Bryn

Bryn

    Spammer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,019 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wonston, Winchester, UK
  • Interests:Music, Philosophy, Design, History, Reading, Writing, The Weekend etc...

Posted 15 February 2006 - 04:16 PM

You dont need splash pages for a portfolio.
Nice, just takes a while to load which isn't very succesful when attracting clients.

#12 Arutha

Arutha

    Young Padawan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 144 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton, England

Posted 15 February 2006 - 04:47 PM

didn't work with FF. so i didn't bother to stay more than 30 seconds. Splash is nice tho

#13 _*Speed_*

_*Speed_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 February 2006 - 09:51 PM

  • Your site doesnt load in firefox
  • Your splash page is messy and has no use in my perspective
  • Your page uses a lot of images, on top of that you incorporated an image preloader which really is annoying to many viewers
  • Your entire site does not display properly
  • I for one didnt like the animation after I clicked on any link. Im not sure about others but I dont recommend it
VIEW SCREENSHOT

Edited by Speed, 16 February 2006 - 09:53 PM.


#14 Bravi

Bravi

    Young Padawan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 198 posts

Posted 17 February 2006 - 03:27 PM

I made that damn splash page, to tell users that the website works only on Internet Explorer!!!!
and..
Here's the screenshot of what loads on my PC:

G.N. Designs

and this is the source code of my entire website:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.1//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR...D/xhtml11.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<META http-equiv=Content-Type content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<META name=AUTHOR content="G.N. Designs" />
<META name=COPYRIGHT content="Copyright © by G.N. Designs" />
<link href="main.css" rel="stylesheet" rev="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<title>.:: G.N. Designs ::.</title>
</head>
<body onLoad="load()">
<script src="js/txts.js" type="text/javascript" language="JavaScript"></script>
<script src="js/main.js" type="text/javascript" language="JavaScript"></script>
<div id="load">.:: 13 Seconds To Load ::.<br/>~ G.N. Designs ~<br/><br/>Burning Candle...<br/>Dancing Flame...<br/>When the Cradle...<br/>Is the Pain...<br/></div>
<div id="all">
<div id="copyright">Copyright 2006. All Right Reserved. <a href="mailto:[email protected]?Subject=G.N. Designs">G.N. Designs</a></div>
</div>
</body>

#15 Sesh

Sesh

    Young Padawan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 82 posts

Posted 19 February 2006 - 11:20 PM

i saw no problem with it on IE, looks good to me.

And bravi, there is no reason to get high blood pressure because you got over-critiscized, if that.

- but the site looks good. Gj. :(

#16 _*Speed_*

_*Speed_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 February 2006 - 11:51 PM

I made that damn splash page, to tell users that the website works only on Internet Explorer!!!!
and..
Here's the screenshot of what loads on my PC:

G.N. Designs

and this is the source code of my entire website:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.1//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR...D/xhtml11.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<META http-equiv=Content-Type content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<META name=AUTHOR content="G.N. Designs" />
<META name=COPYRIGHT content="Copyright by G.N. Designs" />
<link href="main.css" rel="stylesheet" rev="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<title>.:: G.N. Designs ::.</title>
</head>
<body onLoad="load()">
<script src="js/txts.js" type="text/javascript" language="JavaScript"></script>
<script src="js/main.js" type="text/javascript" language="JavaScript"></script>
<div id="load">.:: 13 Seconds To Load ::.<br/>~ G.N. Designs ~<br/><br/>Burning Candle...<br/>Dancing Flame...<br/>When the Cradle...<br/>Is the Pain...<br/></div>
<div id="all">
<div id="copyright">Copyright 2006. All Right Reserved. <a href="mailto:[email protected]?Subject=G.N. Designs">G.N. Designs</a></div>
</div>
</body>

Try changing your resolution and see if your site still loads correctly.

#17 Bravi

Bravi

    Young Padawan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 198 posts

Posted 20 February 2006 - 02:14 PM

Sesh, I just don't understand why ppl don't read what's written on that Splash page.
And
Speed, I tried loading my site on 1024x768. and It loaded without any errors. And I tried that not only on my PC, but from several Internet Cafes + from School. There were no errors... (on IE s only, coz I scripted that for IE only. )

#18 lcmatt

lcmatt

    Young Padawan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 22 February 2006 - 01:21 PM

There were no errors... (on IE s only, coz I scripted that for IE only. )


Sorry but that stopped me from even visiting your website, IE isnt the only browser on the market (What about Mac users? IE is no longer shipped on Macs anymore?)

#19 ccbass85

ccbass85

    Young Padawan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 86 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maryland

Posted 24 February 2006 - 01:24 AM

You got a tight lookin layout. I reaaaally like the Graphics.... BUT not for a portfolio site. Looks like it should be a video game website. A portfolio site ( i think) should be simple, and easy to navigate, even on 800x600 resolution) and sorry to repeat what evryobe else already said but other browers need to see it (Safari doesnt see it)

#20 Wybe

Wybe

    Jedi In Training

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 401 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:the Netherlands
  • Interests:I have no interests

Posted 24 February 2006 - 03:21 PM

You really should make your website accessible to other browsers than IE as well. You might have well noticed a large part of the people replying to this thread use Firefox and couldn't view your website. That's because Firefox is getting more and more popular, and you see that happen particularly good in techy places like this. If you want to show a potential client a beautiful site like yours, make sure and extra sure they can view it properly, or it'll only discourage (as opposed to encourage) them to hire you.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users