12 replies to this topic

#1 hoppo

hoppo

Young Padawan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 26 March 2006 - 01:45 PM

Ok i am a driving instructor who is looking to get into web design, my driving school site get good traffic and is on first page for google with a pr of 2.

I lack a bit of flair and i know they are a bit raw but would appreciate some honest views/comments :) on my sites, they are:

www.mphwebdesign.co.uk and www.martinhopkinssom.co.uk

Just bought dreamweaver so looking to learn this to help jazz them up a bit.

#2 Mickoe

Mickoe

Young Padawan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 56 posts

Posted 26 March 2006 - 07:39 PM

Put more colors, put more life! I suggest you also to put more contrast in your links, make them blacker. Also, you need a logo design job bad :) . But well, it is a nice start.

#3 Hoot

Hoot

* Hooty Tooty Fruit *

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,346 posts
  • Interests:Making Websites, Working in 3D, Playing the Drums

Posted 27 March 2006 - 04:37 PM

what may help it look better is insted of just simply having a background with all of the text slaped on it, create a design with images (don't get me wrong simple isn't bad) when I mean images, look how Pixel2Life is layed out there are set columns you can see where the content goes.

Hoot

#4 hoppo

hoppo

Young Padawan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 27 March 2006 - 05:44 PM

added a couple of new name/logos what do you think?

#5 PSUser77

PSUser77

Young Padawan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 27 March 2006 - 08:00 PM

I like the pricing and web packages available on your www.mphwebdesign.co.uk site...but you might want to spruce the site up a bit - I'm thinking maybe a fancier header and some better buttons would help.

Just curious...what programs do you use? Fireworks? Photoshop? :P HTML coding? What? :D

#6 SebLev

SebLev

Forum Whore is what I am today!

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,514 posts

Posted 31 March 2006 - 07:03 PM