Photo

Photoshop Cs2 - Why doesn't this 'fill'?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 DidaDragonfly

DidaDragonfly

Young Padawan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 June 2007 - 12:11 AM

Greetings!
I am quite new to Photoshop, but I've done a fair amount of tutorials on other sites.

BUT, I just cannot wrap my brain around this one problem I am having...

Ok, here's the explanation:

When I am in Adobe Photoshop Cs2, and I have an image, or background layer already opened, if I make a new layer (which shows as a grey checkerboard), and after selecting the new layer by highlighting it, I draw an elipse with the eliptical marquee tool, and I choose Edit from the menu across the top of the workspace, (just below "Adobe Photoshop", which is at the very top left corner), after clicking on Edit I then choose Fill.......I have a foreground color selected already, why does NOTHING happen???

I don't understand why the 'circle' doesn't 'fill' with my selected color.

I think that if I can figure this out, MAYBE I will be able to understand what I am doing wrong.

Here is a screen capture to further explain what I mean:

Posted Image

PLEASE can someone help me?!

I thank you in advance for imparting your wisdom to me... :)

DidaDragonfly

#2 Scythar

Scythar

Honored X Staff

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,888 posts

Posted 26 June 2007 - 02:16 AM

first select all, and give it the background color by pressing ctrl+backspace (or erm... was it alt+backspace), strange but true: you can only use the edit, fill option if there are any pixels to select, so if the checker is showing it means theres nothing there and thus you cant "select" (sounds strange i know, but hey strange is my name so...) anything.

Hope this makes a little sense??

#3 PSgirl

PSgirl

P2L Staff

• P2L Staff
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,056 posts

Posted 26 June 2007 - 07:20 AM