10 replies to this topic

#1 iQonoclast

iQonoclast

Young Padawan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Posted 07 December 2005 - 07:23 PM

I don't know how to explain the effects done. But I'm in :) with it and want to experiment with the technique. Can someone please enlighten me on how to do this?

Posted Image

Thanks.

#2 Scythar

Scythar

Honored X Staff

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,888 posts

Posted 08 December 2005 - 03:44 AM

Think this one should be in the help section for photoshop,
and do you mean the whole picture or just the letteringin the foreground.
I guess you mean the whole thing.

I'll try to make something similar and then, if i succeed, i'll tell you how i did it.

Most off the time its better to try and find an own variation, so ppl dont have the feeling you are a copy cat.

#3 iQonoclast

iQonoclast

Young Padawan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Posted 08 December 2005 - 05:46 AM

I will take this to that section, but so you know... I'm new to Photoshop, but I definately like that technique. I've messed with all the filters and couldn't come close. At the end of the day, if it seems unoriginal, I can deal with it. But I really do want to know how to do that.

Thanks for the help.

#4 Scythar

Scythar

Honored X Staff

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,888 posts

Posted 08 December 2005 - 07:57 AM

k,
so i was wrong... ;)

I dont know exacly how they did it.

Try this for starters and hope other members can join me to help.

1. use the "despeckle" filter: this filter looks for assemblages of similarly colored pixels and averages their colors, clumping the pixels together into a larger grain.
2. Then use the "unsharp mask" filter with ridiculous high numbers: 500 / 50 / 50.
3. and/or posterize the image with the "cutout" filter (filter > artistic > cutout) --> this one gives smoother and cleaner edges then the posterize command.

Try these out and tell me what is still wrong, we will try to improve the process!!

#5 iQonoclast

iQonoclast